Final Thoughts on CEP 810

27 Jun

This course has provided many new steps for me in the world of technology. I am a new blogger, Twitter user, and dessert maker🙂 as a result of taking CEP 810. I never would have dreamed about how fun it would be to learn in an online community environment to make a dessert to use in my teaching, but now it seems like a most practical way to learn anything that one would want to learn. Is this the end of the library as we know it? I do not believe so, but it is incredible to fathom just how easy it is to get access to information that not a little over 20 years ago the same information was only available in one place. It is as simple as a YouTube, Google, or blog search away to join a knowledgeable community that can help you learn just about anything you want to. This course showed me that we are in the middle of transitioning from an “industrial age” of to an “informational age” in education and our Networked Learning Project was evidence enough for me of that.

No longer is it necessary to have to learn concepts, but students in the 21st century can learn those required concepts along with what they want to learn. According to Mizuko Ito, et al., (2013), effective learning is possible through integrating the three spheres of learning: academic, peer culture, and interests. This idea became clear to me through the NLP because I had experienced all three spheres in one project. First, I connected to peer culture with YouTube and Help Forums. Second, I engaged in the academic sphere by having to complete a good quality product and present it well. Finally, and most importantly, I was interested in what I was learning because I chose what I was going to learn! What students in the traditional school setting actually get to choose their learning interests!? By the NLP experience alone, my professional practice of becoming a more connected teacher and learner is already on the rise. As for my students, if I can have fun learning in a connected environment, why shouldn’t they be able to as well? How to offer this type of learning atmosphere for my students now becomes my greatest challenge.

Even though we spent time in this course learning about integrating technology with TPACK, I still find myself brainstorming how to create such an atmosphere with twenty-minute classes teaching off of a cart. Time is a key piece of the puzzle when students explore within their network. Consequently, having enough time, in my opinion, is necessary for TPACK to work properly. Even with the speed of how information comes at us and how quickly we may learn to use Twitter or a blog, it still takes time to explore and master a new technology, let alone another language. Another challenge I have after taking this course, connecting with TPACK’s idea of “repurposing” technology to fit the needs of the students, is how and what technologies do I begin to repurpose for Spanish teaching? One thing this course has done well for me was model the procedure for learning in the 21st century. It always begins with exploration, then follows with learning and creation, before ending with sharing. It seems I may just have some more exploration and learning ahead to develop more creativity and repurpose technologies for my students to use. As I had described my NLP experience, what an adventure!

References:

Ito, M., Gutiérrez, K., Livingstone, S., Penuel, B., Rhodes, J., Salen, K., Schor, J., Sefton-Green, J. & Watkins, S.C. (2013). Connected Learning: An Agenda for Research and Design. Digital Media and Learning Research Hub, 32-87. Retrieved from http://dmlhub.net/sites/default/files/Connected_Learning_report.pdf

Kereluik, K., Mishra, P. & Koehler, M.J. (2011). On learning to subvert signs: Literacy, technology and the TPACK framework. The California Reader, 44(2), 12-18.

Mishra, P. & Koehler, M.J. (2006). Technological pedagogical content knowledge: A framework for teacher knowledge. Teachers College Record, 108(6), 1017-1054. Retrieved fromhttp://punya.educ.msu.edu/2008/01/12/mishra-koehler-2006/

Leave a Reply

