Networked Learning Project Post #4 (Final Product)

25 Jun

In this post, I have included a video that demonstrates the product of my learning in a networked environment. Through the avenues of YouTube, Help Forums, and Springpad, I learned how to make a delicious homemade arequipe for my project. A few reasons I chose to make arequipe was that it is a mouth-watering snack, it directly integrates into my teaching, but most importantly it is a way for my students to connect to a different culture and community. The project was a new experience for me to learn in such a way, but even though there were bumps along the way I thoroughly enjoyed the ride. One astonishing piece to this type of learning that arose from my personal experience was that when creating the video, I had to consult none other than YouTube once again to figure out how to get my Movie Maker to convert to an acceptable YouTube file. To my surprise, a new project suddenly appeared stemming from an existing project! I found it very interesting how this type of networked learning project creates, at least for me, new networks of people building an ever-expanding community of learners. The possibilities seem endless! With the natural curiosity so many young learners bring to the table, why not allow that curiosity to flourish in our students today?

Last week we learned how TPACK works and the benefits of using it in our teaching. Having experience the TPACK activity and how it connects to this Networked Learning Project, integrating technology doesn’t mean using technology for the sake of putting it in the curriculum, but to connect it to pedagogy and content knowledge by creating technological networks via YouTube, Springpad, Pinterest, etc. Having learned through the TPACK cooking experience how “repurposing” certain technological tools is a good way to integrate technology, the question no longer is why or how to integrate technology but what purpose do the technological tools have to enhance my students’ learning? One other thing I will take from the making of the arequipe and how I can use that experience in my teaching is that when creating a product to share with the rest of the community, your milk is going to boil over sometimes (thankfully not in this video)! Therefore, it takes time and practice to put an end product together and practice is what I’ll get before next school year rolls around. Enjoy the video!

 

References:

Kereluik, K., Mishra, P. & Koehler, M.J. (2011). On learning to subvert signs: Literacy, technology and the TPACK framework. The California Reader, 44(2), 12-18.

Mishra, P. & Koehler, M.J.(2006). Technological pedagogical content knowledge: A framework for teacher knowledge. Teachers College Record, 108(6), 1017-1054. Retrieved fromhttp://punya.educ.msu.edu/2008/01/12/mishra-koehler-2006/

Leave a Reply

