Cookin’ with TPACK

17 Jun

Below I have included a video highlighting the Technological, Pedagogical and Content Knowledge (TPACK) activity I created for this week’s assignment in CEP 810. To begin, food preparation tools were chosen by someone oblivious to what was going to be made. To make things more interesting, I didn’t even know what I was going to make up until shooting the video! Just seconds before recording, my task of making a peanut butter and jelly sandwich was drawn out of a hat. I like to think through and plan my activities before carrying them out, so for me, completing this task was EXTREMELY nerve-racking! As technology continues to grow, TPACK suggests that teachers need to become innovators of existing technology and to “repurpose” it for enhancing student learning. As you will see, I will similarly need to “repurpose” an existing technology to make my food product. Sometimes innovation needs to happen “on the fly” and this activity represents this “real time” innovation well. Enjoy!

Thanks for watching!

Leave a Reply

